Vitamin C, collagen and your skin

With a 30% share of total body protein, collagen is the most abundant protein in the human body. Collagen is the most important structural protein of the skin and fulfills a variety of functions to maintain its elasticity and flexibility. From around the age of 25, the body's collagen production drops and also slows down with age. The elasticity of the skin decreases, wrinkles and connective tissue weaknesses such as cellulite develop.

Vitamin C is not only a basic requirement for the body's own collagen production, but also a stimulant. This is shown by scientific studies on human skin fibroblasts in which it could be shown that long-term treatment with vitamin C for 5 days significantly improves the synthesis of collagen I and IV [1].

Like vitamin E, vitamin C helps protect the cells from oxidative stress. While vitamin E loses its antioxidant effect in preventing cell attack, vitamin C has the capacity to regenerate the reduced form of vitamin E. Accordingly, when combined, vitamins C and E are particularly effective in protecting cells from free radicals

To a certain extent, this age-related collagen breakdown - also due to increasing environmental influences - can be counteracted with a healthy lifestyle, e.g. through high-dose vitamin C and special superfood nutrients as a dietary supplement.

Source: 1. Kishimoto, Y., et al., Ascorbic acid enhances the expression of type 1 and type 4 collagen and SVCT2 in cultured human skin fibroblasts. Biochem Biophys Res Commun, 2013. 430 (2): p. 579-84

Vitamin C, Kollagen und deine Haut

Mit einem Anteil von 30 % am gesamten Körperprotein, ist Kollagen das am häufigsten vorkommende Eiweiß im menschlichen Körpers. Kollagen ist das wichtigste Strukturprotein der Haut und erfüllt vielfältige Funktionen zur Erhaltung von deren Elastizität und Flexibilität. Ab etwa dem 25. Lebensjahr sinkt die körpereigene Kollagen Produktion und verlangsamt sich zudem mit zunehmendem Alter. Die Spannkraft der Haut lässt nach, es entstehen Falten und Bindegewebsschwächen wie Cellulite.

Vitamin C ist nicht nur Grundvorrausetzung für die körpereigene Kollagen Produktion, sondern auch ein Stimulanz. Dies zeigen wissenschaftliche Studien an menschlichen Hautfibroblasten in der nachgewiesen werden konnte, das die Langzeitbehandlung mit Vitamin C über 5 Tage die Synthese von Kollagen I und IV signifikant verbessert [1].

Vitamin C trägt genauso wie Vitamin E dazu bei, die Zellen vor oxidativem Stress zu schützen. Während Vitamin E seine antioxidative Wirkung bei der Verhinderung eines Zellangriffs verliert, hat Vitamin C die Kapazität die reduzierte Form von Vitamin E zu regenerieren. Dementsprechend sind Vitamin C und E im Zusammenspiel besonders effektiv beim Schutz von Zellen vor freien Radikalen

Bis zu einem gewissen Grad kann diesem altersbedingten Kollagen Abbau - auch durch steigende Umwelteinflüsse, mit einem gesunden Lebensstil entgegen gewirkt werden, z.B. durch hochdosiertes Vitamin C und spezielle Superfood Nährstoffe als Nahrungsergänzung.

Quelle: 1. Kishimoto, Y., et al., Ascorbic acid enhances the expression of type 1 and type 4 collagen and SVCT2 in cultured human skin fibroblasts. Biochem Biophys Res Commun, 2013. 430(2): p. 579-84